A Great Wisdom

A Great Wisdom


Source : http://red-sulphur.org
Submitted by Riadi

There is great wisdom in acting for God’s sake and refusing to act for any other reason.

Once Ali (Son-In-Law and Cousin Of Prophet (s)) (may God be pleased with him) was fighting on the battlefield with one of the most powerful champions of the enemy. He finally managed to strike the warrior’s sword from his hand and knock the man to the ground. As he raised his sword to take the enemy’s life, the man looked up and spat in Ali’s face. The Muslim warrior stopped and sheathed his sword. The fallen man said, “I don’t understand. You were about to kill me and yet after I spit at you, you spare my life. Why?”

Ali replied, “Before, I was going to take your life in battling for God’s sake. When you spat at me, it enraged me. Had I killed you then, I would have been a murderer, for I would have struck in anger, for personal reasons. I will fight for God, but I will not murder for my ego.”

The fallen warrior was so deeply impressed he became a Muslim.

Sheikh Muzaffer Ozak, Love is the Wine

Visitor Map
Create your own visitor map!

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] sufi786 sure knows how to captivate the audience. A recent post was published on A Great WisdomHere’s a brief excerpt of what was written: […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

